7junipers.com | Asian Art and Culture

7 junipers home

Entries Comments


The seven large cultural regions of 7Junipers.com:

  1. China
  2. Himalayas (Tibet, Nepal, Butan)
  3. Japan
  4. Korea
  5. South Asia (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh)
  6. Southeast Asia (Cambodia, Thailand, Burma, Laos, Vietnam, the Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei)
  7. West Asia (Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, etc.)

China, Japan, and Korea together comprise East Asia. There are treated separately here for convenience.


Pingback from buried mirror: latest reflections » Poinsettias
Time: December 11, 2007, 5:03 am

[…] the poinsettia (which they called cuetlaxochitl) was a symbol of purity (rather like the lotus in East Asia). I expect the red color would suggest blood to most ancient Mesoamerican cultures. A […]